Australian sevens confirmed for Dubai, Cape Town | Latest rugby news | News Bharat

Australia’s Sevens squads have been confirmed as the HSBC World Series heads to Dubai and Cape Town.

This will see the women’s Triple Crown winners begin their title defence, with coach Tim Walsh keeping a fixed line-up as they prepare for back-to-back rounds.


Charlotte Caslick and Demi Hayes will once again serve as co-captains, with Caslick recently named World Rugby Women’s Sevens Player of the Year.

They are joined by Wallaroos duo Sharni Williams and Bienne Terita following their stint in the 15s game during the 2021 Rugby World Cup in New Zealand.

“The opening tournament provides all teams with an opportunity to execute offseason training strategies in the hopes that they will translate into competitive advantages,” Walsh said in a statement.

“We expect all teams to be at their best from the first game, and there is a lot at stake because of the promise of Olympic qualification.

“Our team has a unique style both on and off the field: everyone has a voice and an integral role to play.

“Last year we showed we could come out and win consistently, our goal this year is to get better every day.”

They open their campaign in Dubai on December 2 against China (16:22 AEDT), their first meeting since the Tokyo Olympics, where the Aussies cruised to a 26-10 victory.

Reigning champions Dubai complete Group A with tough games against Canada (20:27) and USA (23:35).

On the men’s side, John Manenti has been forced to make two changes from the side that claimed the first leg in Hong Kong earlier this month.

Darcy Lancaster (shin) and James Turner (quad) have been ruled out and will miss Dubai and Cape Town after sustaining injuries during the event.

This is offset by the return of Matt Gonzalez, who has recovered from a hamstring injury.

He is joined by debutant Jordan Lee-Bacon, with the Eastwood product rewarded with a surprise call-up after a breakout performance for Australia A during last week’s Oceania Rugby Sevens Challenge.

“Although we enjoyed great success in Hong Kong, that doesn’t make our next step any easier – our pool matches against Kenya, Great Britain and South Africa will be a tough first day,” he said stay

“We have never won the Dubai tournament, but we see this weekend as a great opportunity to make more history.”

The team is once again captained by Nick Malouf, starting their tournament against Kenya (6:56 p.m.).

Next up is Great Britain (10.42pm), who will compete as a combined entity in the 22-23 World Series, before a rematch of last year’s Dubai final against South Africa (December 3, 3.33 h).

All HSBC Dubai and Cape Town Sevens matches are live and exclusive to beIN SPORTS, available via Foxtel, Kayo, Fetch and beIN SPORTS CONNECT.

Australian sevens teams for Dubai and Cape Town events:


Charlotte Caslick (co-captain)

Demi Hayes (co-captain)

Madison Ashby

Lily Dick

Dominique Du Toit

Aunt Hinds

Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea

Maddison Levi

Teagan Levi

Faith Nathan

Sariah Paki

Bienne Terita

Sharni Williams


Nick Malouf (captain)

Tim Clements

Stu Dunbar

Matt Gonzalez

Henry Hutchison

Nathan Lawson

Jordan Lee-Bacon*

Maurice Longbottom

Ben Marr

Kye Oates

Henry Paterson

Dietrich Roache

Josh Turner

*Denotes a headless player

Source link