Kiwi teams live the golf dream in Dubai | News Bharat

Two Kiwi teams are playing three of the world’s best golf courses this week, having earned a place in the World Amateur Match Race in Dubai.

Dubai Creek Golf Club.

The World Amateur Match Race is a season-long elimination match competition that starts locally and ends for the winners with a tournament final in Dubai against teams from other nations.

Bin Shao and Bo Liu have teamed up with fellow Kiwis David Neumann and Nick Kotze to compete. Shao and Liu were unable to travel to the 2021 finals in Dubai due to Covid travel restrictions, so they are also competing this year.

The tournament lasts three days on three fields.

Bin Shao and Bo Liu.

“The first day is a Better Ball format, the second day is a Texas Scramble (or Ambrose in New Zealand) and the third day is single stroke play,” Neumann told 1News.

“Nick and I had a practice run at the Jumeirah Golf Estates Fire Course and it’s a beautiful course.

“Our first impression of the Fire Course is that it compares to some of the best courses in Auckland and New Zealand – I personally found it similar to Royal Auckland. [Papatoetoe],” he said.

A welcome party was held at Dubai Marina last night ahead of today’s first match.

“It feels amazing to play here, so many great competitors,” Neumann said. “Nick and I still can’t believe we made it to Dubai and are so proud to represent New Zealand.”

Neumann and Kotze say they are getting used to the weather conditions: 1News spoke to the couple at 6am Dubai time.

“The heat in here is pretty up there — 30 degrees right now and that’s winter,” Neumann said.

    Kiwis David Neumann and Nick Kotze having a beer in Dubai.

The first round of the final tournament is played at the Dubai Creek Championship Golf Course and the second round will be at the Earth Course at Jumeirah Golf Estates, home of the DP World Championship, the culmination of The Race to Dubai and European Tour Season. The final round will be played at the Trump International Golf Course.

Nick Kotze stands next to the winners' trophy.

The defending champions are Ireland’s James Obrien and Cormac Browne, the first match kicks off at 9:40am (Dubai time).

Source link